Kevin Kaczmarski Named A Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalist

Kevin Kaczmarski Named A Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalist

📅18 May 2015, 12:28

DALLAS – University of Evansville senior Kevin Kaczmarski was named a semifinalist for the 2015 Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The award is bestowed upon the top college baseball player and is based on two rounds of national voting by The National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).
An outfielder from Cary, Ill., Kaczmarski leads all Division I baseball players in batting average (.478), on-base percentage (.554), triples (9), and triples per game (.20). He also has the third best slugging percentage (.753) in the nation.

Kaczmarski leads the Purple Aces in batting average, hits (85), doubles (19), triples (nine), runs batted in (55), total bases (134), slugging percentage, on-base percentage, and stolen bases (13).

He put together a career-high 22 game hitting streak earlier this season and has only gone hitless in five of his 44 games played this spring.

This is the 29th year of the Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Wednesday, June 10.  The 2015 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the fifth year.  The winner will be unveiled on MLBNetwork on Friday, June 12 and then a press conference with the winner will be held on Saturday, June 13 at 10 a.m. (CDT), the opening day of the 2015 CWS.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball’s most prestigious award.  Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser’s life.

The winner’s name is inscribed on the permanent trophy, a bronze bust of Howser displayed at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg – home of the Tampa Bay Rays. Both the winner and his school receive a special trophy to keep.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport’s only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

Share this article: